Luistervoorbeeld

Somebody Loves You

Auteur Mona Arshi
Spreker Mona Arshi
Speelduur 4u 5m 4s
€ 8,99

Beschrijving

A teacher asked me a question, and I opened my mouth as a sort of formality but closed it softly, knowing with perfect certainty that nothing would ever come out again.

Ruby gives up talking at a young age. Her mother isn’t always there to notice; she comes and goes and goes and comes, until, one day, she doesn’t. Silence becomes Ruby’s refuge, sheltering her from the weather of her mother’s mental illness and a pressurized suburban atmosphere.

Plangent, deft, and sparkling with wry humor, 'Somebody Loves You' is a moving exploration of how we choose or refuse to tell the stories that shape us.

Perfect for fans of Avni Doshi, Ocean Vuong and Abi Daré.

‘A sharply drawn world of wonder in elegant and lean prose. A fresh, innovative novel that is an ode to families, coming of age and sisterhood.’ Roger Robinson

‘A truly enriching read, Somebody Loves You is a glorious debut novel. I took this book with me everywhere and kept returning to it. I loved every perfect choice of word and turn of phrase in this vivid and tender, poetic and beautiful book.’ Salena Godden

‘Each sentence has the cadence of poetry, each phrase perfectly chosen, each word correctly weighed. This is a novel which reminds us memory and narrative are often not complete but rather are crystallised glimpses, which turn like a kaleidoscope through our mind.’ Andrew McMillan




Mona Arshi was born in West London, where she still lives. She worked as a human-rights lawyer with the NGO Liberty for a decade before receiving a Master’s in creative writing from the University of East Anglia. Her debut poetry collection Small Hands was published in 2015, winning the Forward Prize for Best First Collection. Mona Arshi regularly appears on BBC Radio 4. Her poems have been published in The Sunday Times, The Guardian and The Times of India and most recently the London Underground.

Details

UitgeverSAGA Egmont
Publicatiedatum 16 november 2021
ISBN 9788728047606
Taal Engels
Soort audioLuisterboek
Speelduur 4u 5m 4s
Bestandsgrootte 187 MB
Formaat mp3 download en geschikt voor de Luisterrijk app

Trefwoorden


Reviews van luisteraars

Login om review toe te voegen.