The Sugar Planter's Daughter
The Sugar Planter's Daughter

The Sugar Planter's Daughter

As the white daughter of a sugar plantation owner, Winnie Cox had everything: money, privilege, comfort. But in British Guyana in 1912, Winnie chose love over luxury...

Auteur

Sharon Maas

Spreker

Saffron Coomber

Speelduur

10 uur 34 min

€ 16,99

Beschrijving

As the white daughter of a sugar plantation owner, Winnie Cox had everything: money, privilege, comfort. But in British Guyana in 1912, Winnie chose love over luxury.

Winnie married George Quint, the love of her life - a poor black postman from the slums.

While she lived in poverty with her husband, Winnie's sister Johanna ran the plantation and harboured deep resentment towards Winnie, always her mother’s favourite daughter.

When Winnie's son becomes ill and she travels to find a cure, Johanna falls for George. But he is only interested in Winnie and Johanna's resentment turns to burning hatred and a determination to exact devastating revenge.

'The Sugar Planter's Daughter' is a gripping and moving story of secrets, lies, love and betrayal that will appeal to fans of Dinah Jefferies and Kate Furnivall.

What readers are saying about 'The Sugar Planter's Daughter':

'The writing is stunningly evocative and sensual ...I just felt immersed in the story and setting from the start.' The Book Trail

'A page-turning story, full of humanity, crossing cultures and continents, reminiscent of Andrea Levy.’ Katie Fforde

‘Rich in detail and emotion and has the most beautiful and real description of loss I have ever read.’ Shaz’s Book Blog



Sharon Maas has sold almost 300,000 books since she started publishing with Bookouture.



Sharon Maas was born into a prominent political family in Georgetown, Guyana, in 1951. She was educated in England, Guyana, and, later, Germany. After leaving school, she worked as a trainee reporter with the Guyana Graphic in Georgetown and later wrote feature articles for the Sunday Chronicle as a staff journalist. Sharon has always had a great sense of adventure and curiosity about the world we live in, and Guyana could not hold her for long. In 1971 she set off on a year-long backpacking trip around South America, followed by an overland trek to South India, where she spent two years in an ashram. She is the author of The Violin Maker’s Daughter, The Soldier’s Girl, Her Darkest Hour and many other novels.

Details

Imprint

SAGA Egmont

Uitgever

SAGA Egmont

Publicatiedatum

19 juli 2022

ISBN

9788728278000

Taal

Engels

Speelduur

10 uur 34 min

Bestandsgrootte

451 MB

Formaat

mp3 download en geschikt voor de Luisterrijk app

Categorieën

Tags

Meer auteur Sharon Maas Bekijk alles

The Orphan of India

The Orphan of India

Sharon Maas

€ 16,99