Luistervoorbeeld

The House of Mirth

SerieWorld Classics
Auteur Edith Wharton
Spreker Jan Moorehouse
Speelduur 12u 52m 52s
€ 12,99

Beschrijving

Witty socialite Lily Bart has expensive tastes. Unfortunately, she does not have the social status to match. So far she has managed to get by on ‘old money’ and has become accustomed to a certain level of luxury. Her luck seems to be running out, however, as she approaches thirty and begins to scramble for an eligible bachelor who will secure her both an elevation of social status and stability. First published in 1905, the transparent way in which Edith Wharton explored and challenged the little social mobility that American Victorian society offered women sent shockwaves through the very communities that she wrote about. This thought-provoking text is perfect for fans of novels such as Henry James’ ‘The Portrait of a Lady’.



Edith Wharton (1863-1937) was an American author. Best known for her sharp, scathing, and fierce stories about the upper-class society into which she was born and its treatment of women, she wrote more than 40 books. Her major works include "The Age of Innocence" (1920), "Ethan Frome" (1911), and "The House of Mirth" (1905). Beyond novels, she wrote authoritative works on architecture, gardens, interior design, and travel. She was the first female author to win the Pulitzer Prize, and her work is unmissable for all fans of classic authors, from Joseph Conrad to Virginia Woolf.

Details

UitgeverSAGA Egmont
Publicatiedatum 2 november 2021
ISBN 9788726472479
Taal Engels
Soort audioLuisterboek
Speelduur 12u 52m 52s
Bestandsgrootte 539 MB
Formaat mp3 download en geschikt voor de Luisterrijk app

Trefwoorden


Reviews van luisteraars

Login om review toe te voegen.